Ignition Interlock Device
May 19, 2010 by Post Team
Ignition Interlock Device:This week I write from the domicile of the DUI lawyer Palm Beach on the theme of the igniter. The devil you say! Yes, there is a device called the igniter. The Florida Statute 316.1937 provides as follows: the court may require any person convicted of DUI to equip the vehicle with a vehicle ignition device so it will not work if the level of blood alcohol operator is greater than 0, 05. The time is not less than six months. Yes, this means, in theory, a court could order a device placed in the car for a first offender (any vehicle owned or leased by him or that he has access to). However, if the defendant had a breath alcohol reading of .20 or more, or had a minor (person under 18) in the car with him, then the ignition interlock device must be placed on cars.
If a person is convicted of a second DUI offense the court shall order the placement of ignition interlock device for a period of at least two years! But the reality is that the device would not even put in the car until after the trial period expired. How’s that, you say? Because even in a second D.U.I. the conviction of the duration of the suspension of the driver’s license will be 6 -12 months! The defendant is placed on probation for 12 months. The defendant is simply not allowed to drive (at least legally) while on probation. So once out of the defendant’s probation should trot to the Administrative Review Office, located at 6801 Lake Worth Road, Suite 203, Lake Worth, Florida. 33 467 and proof of installation. No proof, no license!
Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on
Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.