Who Is In The NDP Leadership Race

November 7, 2011 by staff 

Who Is In The NDP Leadership Race, Manitoba MP Niki Ashton is to make an announcement Monday concerning the federal NDP leadership contest. Ashton, 29, has been ruminating about entering the leadership fray. Ashton would become the youngest candidate, the second female and the second candidate from Western Canada to put her name forward.

So far, there are eight candidates in the contest, slated to culminate in a membership vote next March.

Veteran party strategist Brian Topp was the first to enter the race. He was later joined by Quebec MP and NDP Deputy Leader Thomas Mulcair, Ottawa MP Paul Dewar, Quebec MP Roméo Saganash, British Columbia MP Nathan Cullen, Nova Scotia pharmacist Martin Singh, Toronto MP Peggy Nash and Nova Scotia MP Robert Chisholm. Interim NDP Leader Nycole Turmel took over from Jack Layton when he stepped down due to health reasons in July.

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.