Surin Islands National Park

February 12, 2012 by staff 

Surin Islands National Park, The Surin Islands is an archipelago of five islands of the Andaman Sea, located 55 km from the Thai mainland. Administratively, the islands are part of Tambon Ko Phra Thong, Amphoe Khura Buri, in the Phang Nga Province of Thailand.

The Mu Ko Surin National Park covers the area of the islands and their surrounding waters. The park is home to one of the most famous dive sites in the world, Richelieu Rock. In addition the islands feature pristine reefs, making it home to some of the best snorkeling in Thailand.

The five islands are Ko Surin Nuea, Ko Surin Tai, Ko Ri, Ko Kai and Ko Klang, with Ko Surin Nuea and Ko Surin Tai being the two main islands in the group. The Thai-Burmese oceanic border is located a few kilometers north of the Park. Christie Island, Burma’s southernmost point, lies 18 km to the north of Ko Surin Nuea and about 100 km to the south is Mu Ko Similan National Park.
The Surin Islands have a broad selection of animal life – including the Nicobar Pigeon and Mangrove Monitor Lizards.

Below the water can be found a very rich and pristine coral reef ecosystem. While small portions of the islands were affected by the 2004 tsunami, most reefs are still quite healthy.

The Surin Islands host to two small communities of the small ethnic Moken minority, which belongs to the groups known as “Chao Lay” or “Sea Gypsies”. The Moken population of the Surin Island averages around 150 persons.

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.