Punjab Election 2012

March 6, 2012 by staff 

Punjab Election 2012, Congress got a shock in Punjab with the ruling SAD-BJP combine well on the way to retaining power.Ruling Akali Dal-BJP combine bagged 56 seats and is leading in 12 and Congress won 44 seats and leading in 2 seats while others in 3 seats.

Parkash Singh Badal, who has been chief minister of the state for four times, will get the popular mandate for the fifth time. Good governance of SAD-BJP combine has defeated the communal card played by the Congress in these elections.

In Punjab where trends were available for all 117 seats


BJP 12 0 12

Congress 44 2 46

SAD 44 12 56

OTHERS 1 2 3

Punjab Congress president Amarinder Singh won the Patiala assembly seat even though his party was not doing well in counting trends .

Amarinder Singh defeated his Akali Dal rival Surjit Singh Kohli by 42,318 votes.

The results declared asGULZAR SINGH RANIKE won from Attari and from Balachaur, nanad Lal won.

Deep Malhotra of Shiromani Akali Dal won from faridkot and Hardyal Singh Kamboj (INC)from Rajpura and jeetmohinder Singh Sidhu (INC) from Talwandi Sabo .

The BJP-SAD combine is performing well , they are certainly setting a new precedent in Punjab.Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal passes his toughest political test as he his own younger brother, Gurdas Badal, 81, of PPP and cousin Maheshinder Singh Badal of Congress was also contesting.

The main contest is between the ruling Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance and the Congress.

Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal’s long political career has taken a boost by the trends .

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.