Oklahoma Election Results 2010

July 28, 2010 by USA Post 

Oklahoma Election Results 2010Oklahoma Election Results 2010, A defense lawyer who once represented Oklahoma City bombing conspirator Terry Nichols defeated incumbent Mark Gibson on Tuesday in the race for the Republican nomination for district attorney in the Kay and Noble counties.

Brian Hermanson, who represented his state trial for Nichols, defeated Gibson 3383-2757 on Tuesday as complete but unofficial results of the state Board of Elections.

Hermanson said Nichols’ legal representation was raised as an issue in the campaign, “but I had the opportunity to put the issue to bed with the support I received from the victims.”

Hermanson will face Democrat Thomas Salisbury in the November general election. Hermanson, Salisbury and Gibson are all of Ponca City.

Gibson was joined in the defeat of two district attorneys account for another Tuesday.

Bartlesville attorney Kevin Buchanan, he defeated incumbent District Attorney Rick Esser for a vote of 4523-2183 of the race for the Republican nomination for the post of prosecutor in Nowata and Washington.

Esser was district attorney there for 16 years.

Buchanan now face Democrat Alan Gentges in the general election.

In southeastern Oklahoma, the current District Attorney Laura Ross Wallis was crushed by former assistant Mark Matloff in the race for the post of prosecutor in Choctaw, McCurtain and Pushmataha counties.

Matloff had 6470 votes, compared to 3399 in Wallis. Doyle Blythe was a distant third with 833 votes. All candidates in the race were Democrats so Matloff was elected.

Three district attorneys in office won their primaries, however.

Richard Smothermon, district attorney for Pottawatomie and Lincoln counties, defeated challenger Bill Roberson by a vote of 5066-3607. Roberson was a former district attorney in the area. Both candidates are Democrats and no Republicans in the race, and Smotherman was re-elected.

In addition to winning their primaries were Jerry Moore, district attorney acting for Adair, Cherokee, Sequoyah and Wagoner counties, and Cook Max, district attorney of Creek and Okfuskee counties.

Moore won the Democratic nomination W. Grant Huskey by a vote of 11642-6076 at its northeastern district of Oklahoma. Moore will face Republican Brian Kuester in the general election.

In the race in Creek and Okfuskee Counties, Cook beat Doug Merritt 3007 2447 to win re-election. Both candidates are Republicans and Democrats entered the race.

There were two Oklahoma district attorney primary race Tuesday was not involved accordingly.

Farley Ward, now an assistant district attorney in Muskogee County, defeated two other candidates to win the district attorney’s race in the Haskell and Pittsburg counties.

Ward received 4748 votes against 2899 for Terry Harrison and Russell 1139 for Tacheira. Harrison is a representative of the State decided to run for district attorney instead of seeking a fifth term and is currently Tacheira an assistant district attorney of Haskell and Pittsburg Counties.

The position became open when District Attorney Jim Bob Miller is prohibited from running for election in 2010 as part of a deferred prosecution agreement with Attorney General Drew Edmondson.

In addition, Janice Patrick Abitbol Steidley defeated in the Democratic primary race to replace retiring District Attorney Gene Haynes in Craig, Mayes and Rogers counties.

With 76 of 77 precincts reporting, Abitbol Steidley had a total of 6989 votes in 3824. Steidley drugs has been coordinator of the court of Mayes and Craig counties since 2003, while Abitbol is an assistant district attorney. Steidley will face Republican M. Bryce Lair in the general election.

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.