New Year Honours 2011

December 31, 2011 by staff 

New Year Honours 2011, The Northern Irish duo have been awarded the MBE and OBE respectively after a highly successful 2011 in which they each won a major tournament.

McIlroy, who triumphed at the US Open and, at 22, became its youngest champion for 88 years, said he was overwhelmed by the decision to honour him.

‘I am delighted to be named in the Queen’s New Year Honours list. It is quite humbling to be included in such a list of worthy recipients,’ the Holywood-born player said.

Meanwhile, fellow Ulster star Clarke was also recognised after he won the Open this summer, his first major victory at the age of 42.

‘It is a great honour and a fantastic way to end a great year. I am very proud for me and my family,’ he stated.

The pair join former Formula One world champion Nigel Mansell on this year’s list after he was awarded a CBE.

Mansell, who won the world title in 1992 and followed up by claiming the IndyCar championship the following year, is honoured in his role as president of UK Youth.

UK Youth is a charity which provides tools to help build young people’s self-esteem, aptitude and skills.

Mansell last year helped raise £1million for the cause by cycling 1,375 miles in 13 days around the country.

Elsewhere in the sporting world, Scotland’s most capped rugby player Chris Paterson and England rugby league captain and Leeds Rhinos’ prop forward Jamie Peacck are each awarded an MBE.

Chairman of the England and Wales Cricket Board Giles Clarke (CBE) and ex-cricket umpire Dickie Bird (OBE) are recognised, while former Aston Villa chairman Doug Ellis is knighted.

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.