MMFF Winners

December 31, 2011 by staff 

MMFF WinnersMMFF Winners, MOST OF the stars of “Manila Kingpin: Asiong Salonga Story” attended the Metro-Manila Filmfest Awards Night held at Resorts World last Wednesday night and their attendance was worth it as their movie raked in a total of 11 trophies, including best picture, best director for one Gary de la Cruz (since original director had his name deleted from the credits), best screenplay for Roy Iglesias and Ray Ventura, best supporting actor for John Regala, Gatpuno Cultural Award, and the technical awards for best cinematography, original theme song for ‘La Paloma’ (which is not original at all since it’s been around for ages), musical score, production design, sound and editing.

Since star attendance is poor, most of the stars of “Asiong Salonga” served as presenters in many categories like Baron Geisler, Dennis Padilla, Joko Diaz, Ketchup Eusebio, Jaycee Parker, including the wife of Gov. ER, Pagsanjan Mayor Maita Sanchez, and the husband of Jaycee, Danilo Barrios.

The winners for best actress and best actor were both no shows. Maricel Soriano won for “Yesterday Today Tomorrow” but all its stars boycotted the affair to show their rightful indignation for being disqualified in four categories. Dingdong Dantes won for “Segunda Mano” but he’s currently vacationing in Boracay with girlfriend Marian Rivera. Too bad since this is the first time Dingdong won an acting award in films.

It’s good the winners in the best supporting categories were both present: John Regala as Totoy Golem in “Asiong Salonga” and Eugene Domingo as Aida, Ryan Agoncillo’s best friend in “Househusband”. Best child actor is Bugoy Carino for “Tamawo” episode of “Shake Rattle & Roll 13″ but he’s also absent.

“Ang Panday 2″ won two awards: best float and best visual effects. “Enteng ng Ina Mo” won best make up. Best story went to Chris Martinez and Marlon Rivera for “Rain Rain Go Away” episode of “Shake 13″. Best gender sensitivity award went to “My Househusband”.

In the New Wave section for Indie Films, the best full length film went to “Pintakasi,” produced by Imee Marcos. Best actress was Iza Calzado in “HIV,” best actor was JM de Guzman in “Pintakasi.” Best gender sensitivity award went to “HIV” by Neal Tan.

For the student film category, best films were “Payaso” and “Mate.” Gender sensitivity award went to “Speechless.” “Biyahe ni Barbie” got a special jury prize.

Our bets for lead acting, Juday and Ryan in “Househusband” didn’t win even if they’re the most deserving for being so natural in their performances. But if it’s any consolation, they won special prizes. Juday won as Female Celebrity Sexiest Appeal of the Night while Ryan won as Most Glamorous Male Star and the Male Kutis Ganda Award. (Mwa-ha-ha! Sorry by that really made us laugh.) Other lead stars who got these consolation awards were Jeorge Estregan as Male Celebrity Sexiest Appeal of the Night and Ai Ai de las Alas as Female Kutis Ganda Award. Iza Calzado (who came as her late dad Lito Calzado got a posthumous award and she did a dance number) won as Most Glamorous Female Star and Female Face of the Night. Male Face of the Night is Richard Gomez, one of the hosts. Eddie Garcia was given the lifetime achievement award.

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.