Knoxville Nationals

August 14, 2011 by staff 

Knoxville NationalsKnoxville Nationals, Donny Schatz started on the 13th, but finished first in the 51st year Goodyear Knoxville Nationals on Saturday night at historic Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville, Iowa.

Schatz leads the World of Outlaws team owned by two time champion of the NASCAR Sprint Cup, Tony Stewart, pocketed $ 150 000 to win the test of 50-turns of the main race is the largest event in sprint car.

Schatz battled through the night qualifying on Wednesday when engine problems forced his car into the pits, but was saved by testing and performance highlight of heat stroke blunt the effects of his time in the rough A-Main.

“I was sweating bullets when I thought were going to have to come through the Last Chance Showdown after we finished 24th in the main qualification (at night),” said Schatz, of Fargo, ND, who led the Tony Stewart Racing STP / Armor All / Chevrolet. “Fortunately we had enough points to qualify for the 13th show starting Saturday. My car was great all night. The engine, chassis, everything was great. The bottom was a place where my car was able to work really well from the start and the race progressed, I was kind of the line so I had to go back a little. I am very lucky to be with great people and I need to thank the 1100 people signed the most for our brand and the running program. It was really cool to get all these people on the road tonight’s victory. ”

Once the green flag flew, Schatz quickly began to move forward. Schatz picked off car after car until a restart on lap 14 gave him the opportunity to make his move for the lead. Riding the down side, Schatz made a three-line that falls below the segment to begin at the top Sammy Swindell and Brad Sweet. From this point, Schatz held off hard charging Daryn Pittman Oklahoma and Shane Stewart, who ended up second in his case a third consecutive year of Goodyear Knoxville Nationals, after being the runner-up to Q20 Race of Champions Friday and Premier Dealers Chevrolet World Challenge.

“That guy over there began two rows in front of me and a few laps, I could not see at all,” Stewart said as he signed towards Schatz at the press conference after the race. ” I looked at the scoreboard during our first warning and noticed he was already in the top three. I feel really proud of our work. My team did a great job and we spent a lot of cars. ”

Swindell won the pole with a strong race on the day of qualification, but settled for third in the A-Main.

“We were not fast enough,” said Swindell, Germantown, Tenn., who won the event in 1983. “For the red, we do not change much, just put two new rear tires and I had a bad restart when we came out of this red. I was really hard race to catch the end of this reason that I lost, but I was just not enough. ”

Defending champion Tim Goodyear Knoxville Nationals Shaffer responsible for the 19th starting position to finish fourth with Pittman finished in fifth. Outside pole sitter Sweet was eighth after qualifying for his first Knoxville Nationals A-main Goodyear and led four laps on. World of Outlaws Sprint Car Current Series points leader Jason Meyers experienced mechanical woes after the change of speed during pit stop of the race and finished 22nd.

World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series Statistical Report; Knoxville Raceway, Knoxville, Iowa, August 13, 2011

A main (started), 50 laps: 1. 15, Donny Schatz, Fargo, ND (13) 2. 57, Shane Stewart, Bixby, OK (17) 3. 1, Sammy Swindell, Memphis, TN (1) 4. 83x, Tim Shaffer, Aliquippa, PA (19) 5. 27, Daryn Pittman, Owasso, OK (5) 6. 13, Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, ND (7) 7. 21, Brian Brown, Grain Valley, Missouri (6) 8. 9, Brad Sweet, Grass Valley, California (2) 9. Lance Dewease (24) 10. 7, Craig Dollansky, Elk River, Minnesota (18) 11. 41, Jason Johnson, Eunice, Louisiana (20) 12. 83, Paul McMahan, Nashville, Tennessee (16) 13. Stevie Smith (21) 14. 15H, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Sunnyvale, TX (11) 15. 55, Terry McCarl, Des Moines, IA (14) 16. 11, Steve Kinser, Bloomington, IN (8) 17. Don Droud Jr. (23) 18. 56, Davey Heskin, St. Michael, MN (10) 19. Kraig Kinser (22) 20. 2, Dale Blaney, Fowler, OH (3) 21. 51, Fred Rahmer, Salfordville, PA (9) 22. 14, Jason Meyers, Clovis, California (4) 23. 92, Kerry Madsen, St. Marys, NSW, Aust. (15) 24. 17A, Austin McCarl, Des Moines, IA (12. The leaders of the tour: S. Swindell 1, 2-5 Sweet, S. Swindell 6-14, 15-27 Schatz, Pittman 28, 29-50 Schatz. KSE Hard Charger: Shane Stewart (15)

E-main (started), 10 laps: 1. 96AU, Bruce White, Merrylands West, NSW, Aust. (2) 2. 19D, Donovan Peterson, Brookings, SD (1) 3. 22H, Randy Hannagan, Pittsboro, IN (8) 4. 7K, Robby Wolfgang, Sioux Falls (7) 5. 68, Mike Houseman Jr., Des Moines, Iowa (3) 6. 2K, Kevin Ingle, Huron, SD (6) 7. 19, Bob Weuve, Newton, IA (5) 8. 7TAZ, Tasker Phillips, Pleasantville, IA (4) DNS – 7AB, Billy Alley, Bennet, NE, 20PK, Ron Krysl, Atkinson, NE, 23x, Russel Borland, Kewaskum, WI

D-main (started), 12 laps: 1. 7s Jason Sides, Memphis, TN (1) 2. D4, Danny Holtgrave, Pittsburgh, PA (3) 3. 44W, Austen Wheatley, Lake Stevens, WA (4) 4. 91x, Dusty Zomer, Sioux Falls (12) 5. 33, Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO (8) 6. 02, Mike Reinke, Howards Grove, WI (5) 7. 04, Cape Henry, Bellevue, OH (13) 8. 1K, Chris Shirek, Thompson, ND (6) 9. Robby Wolfgang (19) 10. Randy Hannagan (27) 11. 69 Mike Moore, Des Moines, Iowa (7) 12. 19K, Todd King, Sheboygan Falls, WI (9) 13. 8, Kaley Gharst, Decatur, Illinois (15) 14. 45, Mark Johnson, Des Moines, Iowa (10) 15. Tasker Phillips (20) 16. Bruce White (14) 17. Donovan Peterson (16) 18. 9N Wade Nygaard, Grand Forks, ND (11) 19. Mike Houseman Jr. (18) DQ – 4x Toni Lutar, White Horse, British Columbia, Can. (2, 2 crossed – no scales) DNS – Kevin Ingle, Bob Weuve

C-main (started), 15 laps: 1. 1J, Bronson Maeschen, Pleasantville, IA (2) 2. 83JR Tim Kaeding, San Jose, CA (4) / 3. 55x, Jason Solwold, Mount Vernon, WA (3) 4. 18, Tony Bruce Jr., Liberal, KS (1) 5. 17B,Bill Balog, Eau Claire, WI (7) 6. 5W Lucas Wolfe, Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania (10) 7. 1s, Kevin Swindell, Charlotte, NC (11) 8. 63, Chad Kemenah, Findlay, OH (15) 9. 23w Scott Winters, Butterfield, MN (18) 10. 22, Kenny Jacobs, Holmesville, OH (13) 11. Jason Sides (21) 12. 11c, Roger Crockett, Medford, OR (16) 13. 29, Bud Kaeding, Campbell, California (9) 14. Austen Wheatley (22) 15. 1W, Chad Meyer, Sioux Falls (8) 16. 6H, Danny Heskin, St. Michael, MN (19) 17. 71R Ryan Anderson, Deloit, IA (5) 18. 2D, Bryan Dobesh, Sioux Falls (6) 19. 20E Brian Ellenberger, Butler, Pennsylvania (17) 20. Danny Holtgrave (20) 21. 0 Jonathan Allard, Chico, California (14) DNS – 6RX, Ryan Bunton, Morton, IL, 6M, Jac Haudenschild, Wooster, OH.

B-main (started), 22 laps: 1. 1z, Stevie Smith, Broken Arrow, OK (3) 2. 6, Kraig Kinser, Bloomington, IN (2) 3. 47, Dont Droud Jr., Lincoln, NE (15) 4. 30c, Lance Dewease, Fayetteville, Pennsylvania (9) / 5. 12, Lynton Jeffrey, Prairie City, IA (8) 6. 39, Greg Hodnett, Thomasville, Pennsylvania (14) 7. 4, Danny Smith, Danville, (16) 8. 89g, David Gravel, Watertown, Connecticut (18) 9. 45x, Johnny Herrera, Albuquerque, NM (12) 10. 2B, Ben Gregg, Glendale, AZ (19) 11. 99, Brady Bacon, Broken Arrow, OK (5) 12. 01, Wayne Johnson, Knoxville, IA (17) 13. Bronson Maeschen (21) 14. 10, Rager Phillips, Pleasantville, IA (6) 15. 1ZZ, Jessica Zemken, Sprakers, NY (20) 16. 59, Brooke Tatnell, Sans Souci, NSW, Aust. (4) 17. 28, Ian Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, Aust. (13) 18. 7x, Dustin Selvage, Indianola, IA (10) 19. 35, Justin Henderson, Sioux Falls (1) 20. Tim Kaeding (22) 21. 14x, Joey Moughan, Springfield, IL (7) 22. 91, Cody Darrah, Red Lion, Pennsylvania (11)

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.