Karnataka High Court

October 18, 2010 by Post Team 

Karnataka High Court, The Karnataka High Court bench of two judges on Monday differed in disqualification of 11 BJP MLAs by Speaker KG Bopaiah. The question now go to another bank.

In the disqualification of the five independent MLAs, the bank of two judges agreed that they should be heard by “any other bank” in 02 November. The issue of 11 BJP MLAs are now going to raise before the third judge on October 20.

Chief Justice Khehar Singh confirmed the order of the President, but Justice N Kumar refused. The judges agreed on three points, but at the point of Anti-Defection Law, disagreed. They agreed that the President followed the rules of natural justice and had no intention of bad faith.

They also had the same opinion that the rules were followed by the President, but disagreed on the extent of the applicability of the Law Against Desertion in disqualification of 11 MLAs.

Earlier Thursday, the Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa expected, won a second trial of strength in the state Assembly truncated.

On 10 October, the President had disqualified 11 BJP MLAs and five independent MLAs under the Anti-Defection Act before voting for the chief minister BS Yeddyurappa confidence on 11 October.

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.