Gold Glove Winners

November 2, 2011 by staff 

Gold Glove Winners, The winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award were announced last night. Players receiving the honor are considered to have been the best defensive performance in their position, and are voted on by major league managers and coaches. Let’s take a look at the 2011 American League Gold Glove winners
C – Matt Wieters – Orioles
1B – Adrian Gonzalez – Red Sox
2B – Dustin Pedroia – Red Sox
SS – Erick Aybar – Angels
3B – Adrian Beltre – Rangers
LF – Alex Gordon – Royals
CF – Jacoby Ellsbury – Boston Red Sox
RF – Nick Markakis – Orioles
P – Mark Buehrle – White Sox
The Red Sox clean, as were three Gold Glove winners announced. In his first year in the American League, Adrian Gonzalez took the award for best defensive first baseman. He was a Gold Glove Gon-third and the first since 2009. Dustin Pedroia picked up his second GG, while Jacoby Ellsbury got his first.
In fact, the three gardeners were the winners for the first time. Alex Gordon led the American League in outfield assists, earning him his first Gold Glove as one of the Orioles fan, I’ve been privileged to see Nick Markakis go right field for years, playing over average and the defense displayed his cannon arm. Finally, Nick is receiving national attention for his defensive efforts.
Slick-fielding third baseman Adrian Beltre picked up his Gold Glove third, while Erick Aybar was the winner for the first time at shortstop. Matt Wieters, another first timer, still has to meet high expectations at the plate, but the support has been better than advertised behind the plate.
Mark Buehrle won his third Gold Glove, and probably can take home the award every year from now, thanks to its gem on Opening Day 2010.

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.