Daytona 500 Starting Lineup

February 26, 2012 by staff 

Daytona 500 Starting Lineup, Two weekends ago was the annual Super Bowl, but today is the Super Bowl of racing! The 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup season series kicks off for the 54th time at the paved 2.5-mile d-shaped oval at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida.

NASCAR has been running at the Florida-based circuit since 1959 when Lee Petty won the first event. While IndyCar’s Indianapolis 500 and Formula 1′s Monaco Grand Prix may be better known – and watched – world-wide, the is no question in the United States that the Daytona 500 is racing’s biggest race of the year. And it is NASCAR’s biggest race of the year.

Since 2000, only one driver has won this event twice – Michael Waltrip 2001 & 2003. That’s an amazing eleven different winners in the last twelve races. If you are looking for an element of predictability, the Daytona 500 isn’t it. There are few if any significant trends, other than… avoid the big one.

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.