Carl Hagelin Hit

April 16, 2012 by staff 

Carl Hagelin Hit, Carl Hagelin still seem stunned a day after laying out Swedish countryman Daniel Alfredsson with an elbow to the head that left the Ottawa captain with a possible concussion and landed the mild-mannered New York Rangers rookie in trouble with the NHL. Then it got worse Sunday night when he was hit with a three-game suspension.

To say that plays like this are out of character for the 23-year-old Hagelin would be an understatement. The speedy forward claims to have never been given a major penalty before – anywhere.

But Saturday, he elbowed Alfredsson along the boards during the second period of the Senators’ 3-2 overtime victory in Game 2 that evened the best-of-seven series. Alfredsson didn’t return to the game, and his health and status for the rest of the series was unknown Sunday

The Rangers were miffed by the severity of Hagelin’s punishment in light of Nashville’s Shea Weber receiving only a $2,500 fine for smashing the head of Detroit forward Henrik Zetterberg into the glass at the end of Game 1 of that series. Zetterberg wasn’t injured on the play.

“The New York Rangers accept the NHL’s three-game suspension of Carl Hagelin and will not pursue an appeal,” the team said in a statement. “However, we are thoroughly perplexed in the ruling’s inconsistency with other supplementary discipline decisions that have been made throughout this season and during the playoffs.”

Hagelin wasn’t the only punished player from this rough night. Senators defenseman Matt Carkner was suspended for Game 3 for his actions in a one-sided fight with Rangers forward Brian Boyle.

Hagelin’s hit on Alfredsson occurred at 10:32 of the second period in the Ottawa end. After Alfredsson moved the puck along the boards, Hagelin landed his elbow on Alfredsson’s head, sending him into the glass.

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.