Calvin Johnson Catch

September 13, 2010 by staff 

Calvin Johnson Catch, Athletes today do the things that make the rule never thought possible. For example, Dr. Naismith put the basket 10 feet high so that nobody would be able to jump and put in the basket of peaches.

How did that work out?
By the letter of the rule, the referees should be allowed Calvin Johnson TD catch in the fourth quarter. That should be the end of the story.

However, there is simply too much at stake to allow outdated rules stupid as it is in the books.

Contrary to the perception of some, the Bears did not get away with it when officials of a foot for his initial decision on an incomplete pass that appeared to be a touchdown catch of 28 yards to Calvin Johnson, who won the game for Detroit Lions.

Based on the text of the rule applied, the officials made the right call, according to Gene Steratore arbitrator, who explained the call just minutes after the game.

Asked what rule was applied, Steratore said: “The failure is that the catch was completed, he must maintain possession throughout the capture process.”

The problem I have is what determines the process of “catching”?

While one could easily say that Johnson has not shown clearly on the play in question.

And after making the catch and fall on your rear end, Johnson turned his right hand extended holding the ball, which appeared as the receiver to hold his balance.

But here’s a good question … What if Johnson ever turned and held his tuckus after doing the trick? Could officials have ruled the play a touchdown, then?

“No,” said Steratore. “We did not play with both feet or knees or anything of the stage. We are talking now about the capture process. You catch the football. As you land, you must maintain possession throughout the process. Just as it is … if he fell down two feet and elbow hit the ground, and left, would be incomplete. ”

While Johnson seemed to have the ball in one hand a little from sitting in the end zone, Steratore said the process “of making the capture was not complete” until the end of that stuff, “as he stood in front of the lawn.

That’s my problem. The “capture process was over. His arm extension was part of the celebration. He was apparently holding the ball up to see. As if to prove to everyone. Hey made the catch!

But the arbitrators interpreted which was still in the process of making the catch. Give me a break. Ok. Really?

“That’s the rule,” the Bears tight end Greg Olsen said. “If you catch the ball goes to ground, must be maintained all the way through. It’s pretty cut and dry. That happened to us all. You catch the ball, get hit, hit the ground and the ball pops out. That’s the way it goes. ”

Bears linebacker Lance Briggs Johnson game compared to a similar event of another confrontation with an enemy of the NFC North. Green Bay Packers receiver Greg Jennings lost a potential touchdown last season against the Bears in a similar manner.

“On the play to Johnson, it made my stomach turn,” said Briggs. “I hate that sort of thing. I remembered the Green Bay game last year. You play great defense throughout the game and give up a big play.”

That’s almost what happened when Johnson made the dazzling play with 31 seconds remaining.

“Game over”, he thought.

Wrong, Johnson soon learned.

“The first thing that went through my head was finally won in Chicago,” said Johnson. “I learned after he ran across the field that does not count.”

Yes. Learned how a touchdown can be determined that there is a touchdown catch and how can one not be a trap.

Silly rule … What do you think?

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.