Big 10

December 13, 2010 by staff 

Big 10, The Big Ten Conference announced Monday its new logo for a league of 12 members from the 2011-2012 school years at Nebraska and announced the names joined the football division.

“Like anything new, it will take time getting used to,” Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany said the Big Ten Network logo, which retains the name of Big Ten and replaces the “I” in BIG with the number 1
The two divisions will be football legends and leaders.

“We decided to look at our history and our future,” said Delany to decide on names division title.

Legends and Leaders may sound generic, but the division alignments are not amenable to the use of north, south, east or west.

“Then I think to be more specific about the names of the divisions, by associating with a coach or player, we have a treasury of legends,” said Delany. “He seemed to be too exclusive and not inclusive enough.”

Division leaders will feature Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin.

The Legends Division wills Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska and Northwest.

The league announced the alignment in early September. They exist only in football.

In addition to playing other division members, each school will play three crossover games against teams from the other division. Guaranteed inter-division games are Illinois-Northwestern, Indiana, Michigan State, Ohio State and Michigan, Penn State, Nebraska, Purdue, Iowa and Wisconsin and Minnesota.

Next season, the winner of each division will meet in league play first championship Dec. 3 at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis. That will determine the Big Ten champion and participant in the conference in the Rose Bowl or Bowl Championship Series national championship game.

The winner of the championship game of the league will receive the championship trophy Stagg-Paterno, named for the late Amos Alonzo Stagg, who ran a time league member from the University of Chicago from 1892 to 1932, and Penn State coach Joe Paterno.

The MVP of the game will receive the trophy Grange-Griffin, named for the late Harold Edward “Red” Grange, who played at Illinois, and Archie Griffin of Ohio State, the only double winner Heisman trophy.

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.