BBC Sound 2012

December 5, 2011 by staff 

BBC Sound 2012, Fifteen rising stars have been named on the BBC Sound of 2012 longlist, which aims to highlight music’s most exciting new artists for the year ahead. The list, now in its 10th year, was compiled using tips from more than 180 influential UK tastemakers, who were asked to name their favourite new acts.

The Sound of 2012 winner and top five will be unveiled in January. Jessie J topped last year’s list. Other previous winners include Adele, Ellie Goulding, Corinne Bailey Rae and Keane. The emerging artists on this year’s longlist range from UK hip-hop and grime MC Dot Rotten to blues singer-songwriter Jamie N Commons and attitude-filled female pop trio Stooshe.

Twenty-year-old rapper and singer Azealia Banks and rapper A$AP Rocky, both from Harlem, New York, are included alongside dubstep producers Flux Pavilion and Skrillex.

Three British soul acts have made it onto the longlist – Michael Kiwanuka and Lianne La Havas, both from London, and Ren Harvieu, who hails from Salford.

UK guitar bands Spector and Dry The River are listed, along with Brooklyn-based indie-pop band Friends and Swedish dance duo Niki & The Dove. US singer-songwriter and rapper Frank Ocean completes the top 15.

The other previous winners are: Ellie Goulding (Sound of 2010), Little Boots (Sound of 2009), Adele (Sound of 2008), Mika (Sound of 2007), Corinne Bailey Rae (Sound of 2006), The Bravery (Sound of 2005), Keane (Sound of 2004) and 50 Cent (Sound of 2003).

Other artists in the top five in previous years include Hurts (Sound of 2010), Florence and the Machine (Sound of 2009), Duffy (Sound of 2008), Klaxons (Sound of 2007), Plan B (Sound of 2006), Bloc Party (Sound of 2005), Franz Ferdinand (Sound of 2004) and Dizzee Rascal (Sound of 2003).

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.