2011 Presidents Cup

November 16, 2011 by staff 

2011 Presidents Cup, The Presidents Cup returns to Australian soil for only the second time in its history as the Greg Norman-led International Team welcomes the challenge from Fred Couples and his American charges.

The four-day event will be held at Royal Melbourne Golf Course for the second time. The first was in 1998 when the Internationals claimed their only Presidents Cup victory in the event’s 17-year history.

Since the Internationals’ breakthrough win in 1998, United States has not been defeated, winning in San Francisco (2009), Quebec (2207) and Virginia (2005, 2000) with one tie in South Africa in 2003.

The teams
Both teams consist of 12 players each. The US Team is selected from the top 10 money earners on the PGA Tour from August 2009 to September 2011 plus two captain’s picks.

The International team is made up of the top 10 players on the official golf rankings, who are not eligible for the European Ryder Cup team, as of September 2011 as well as two captain’s picks.

Norman and Couples lead their respective teams against each other for the second time. In 2009, they became the only two captains in Presidents Cup history who were former participants in the event.

The pair were opponents in 1998 when Norman was part of the Internationals’ only Presidents Cup win.

Report to Team

Please feel free to send if you have any questions regarding this post , you can contact on

Disclaimer: The views expressed on this site are that of the authors and not necessarily that of U.S.S.POST.


Comments are closed.